I have just investigated www.dogster.com and I am really pleased with this SNS.  I have not been really pleased with Twitter because I don’t have time to see what others are doing on a continious basis.  I also find it difficult to determine who you are compatiable with without conducting in-depth research.  I also am not sure what type of relationships one could actually build on Twitter.

I went ahead and created a profile for my dog Abby on www.dogster.com and thus far, I have really enjoyed reading about the animals and what thier owners have to say about them.  I think that I am discovering the key to a SNS and that is a SNS will only be successful if you have stuff in common with the individuals involved.  Much like face to face friendships; you wouldn’t want to be friends with someone you have nothing in common with – what would you have to talk about?